Skip to content

CIBSE is currently upgrading its IT systems to improve core customer functions and increase efficiency and effectiveness. This will mean some website services will be offline until Monday 25 July. Help

Building Performance Engineer of the Year

Interested in sponsoring this category?

This Award recognises and rewards the contributions of practicing building services engineers to creating and maintaining a sustainable built environment.  It celebrates individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the Science, Art and Practice of building services engineering in 2017-2019.

NB: Please note that this is not a lifetime achievement award.

Who should enter?

  • Nominees for this award must be practicing engineers registered with the Engineering Council (CEng, IEng or EngTech) or equivalent.

  • Each entry must have a nominator and two supporting nominators.

  • Either the primary nominator or one of the supporting nominators must be registered with the Engineering Council (CEng, IEng or EngTech) or equivalent. Supporting nominations will be accepted from clients, other professionals, and other participants in the supply chain.

The Judging process

Nominations will be evaluated by a judging panel who will draw up a shortlist of no more than 10 nominees.   Those short listed will then be invited to interview by the panel on 5 November 2020. Shortlisted nominees will be advised in advance the format of the interview.

The entry form headings reflect the judging criteria and the judges will be looking for you to provide the relevant information under each heading.

Closing Date: 3 September 2020


Entry forms

Download the Engineer of the Year Entry Form

Useful resources

CIBSE Building Performance Awards 2020 - Winners

CIBSE Building Performance Awards 2019 - Winners