Skip to content

Two CIBSE members awarded highest Institution award

Two CIBSE members have received the highest CIBSE award in recognition of their exceptional services to the Institution.

Lou Bedocs and Geoffrey Brundrett were both awarded CIBSE Gold Medals, from CIBSE President Peter Y Wong, at the Chartered Institution of Building Services Engineers (CIBSE) President’s Awards 2017.

Iain Carlisle, giving the citation for Lou Bedocs, highlighted his achievements over his 53 year career, and his extraordinary arrival as a refugee to the UK. Born in Hungary in 1942, Bedocs came to the UK as a refugee as a teenager. He found employment with Smart and Brown and Ferguson and from there undertook an electrical apprenticeship, where his interest in light and lighting was ignited. On completion of his training he joined Atlas Lighting - later to become Thorn Lighting - where he worked for 30 years, becoming Technical Director in 1991.

He has been vice president of CIBSE, and Chairman of the Lighting Division (now SLL), has been awarded two Leon Gaster Medals, has received the SLL Lighting Award, and was made Honorary President of the Lighting Industry Federation in 2010.

Alfred Leun gave the citation for Geoffrey Brundrett, highlighting his achievements over his 55 year career and his contribution to the industry at regional, national and international level. He gained an international reputation for his contribution to the understanding of the control of legionella.  Over his career, he was heavily involved in a large number of CIBSE guides and sat on the editorial committee for BSER&T.

Since retiring as head of the Environment and Buildings Division at the Electricity Council research centre, he has been senior fellow at the University of Wales and Visiting Professor at the University of Liverpool. He was elected to represent engineers on the Council of Royal Society of Health, of which he was subsequently chairman.

Three silver medals were also awarded on the night, in recognition of outstanding service to CIBSE. The silver medals were awarded to:

  • Paul Ruffles, a lighting engineer and a CIBSE member for more than 39 years, during which time he was Chair of the Lighting Division (SLL), and member of the Professional Practices Committee.
  • Stuart MacPherson, Honorary Professor of Building Services Engineering at Heriot-Watt University. He has been a dedicated member of the CIBSE Scotland Committee for over 17 years and is current CIBSE Treasurer.
  • Colin Wilson, a member of the CIBSE Yorkshire committee for 41 years in different posts, including Region Chairman. He is a STEM Ambassador, and implemented the first Region Mentoring System.

The annual president’s dinner recognises and rewards industry talent with a number of awards, showcasing both newly qualified and experienced engineers. Other awards presented on the night are:
Hays Building Services President’s Prize

Patrick Tanner of London South Bank University, won the CIBSE Undergraduate Award, and a prize of £500 for his final year project ‘Investigation into potential C0” and energy savings due to specification of electrical cabling based on energy efficiency criteria’.

The award, sponsored by Hays Building Services, has been in existence for more than 20 years and is designed to encourage students to develop their potential and aim for excellence. It is awarded to students in their final year of a building services course accredited by CIBSE, and recognises their academic achievements.

A trophy was also awarded to London South Bank University as acknowledgement of its achievements.  

Happold Brilliant Award

The award recognises excellence in the teaching of building services engineering, and was this year presented to MidKent College Award. The award was accepted by Kim Howes on behalf of the College.

Technical Awards

Ian Knight of Cardiff University, won the Carter Bronze Medal, for his paper ‘Operational energy use and power demands in European HVAC components.’  This is awarded for the most highly rated paper published in BSER&T relating to application and development.

His paper looked how a gradual move from energy management at building level, to energy management at component level requires specific energy consumption and power demand benchmarks. His paper provided a methodology for collecting and collating the data needed for producing these benchmarks.

Dr Matthew Eames, from the University of Exeter, won the Napier Shaw Bronze Medal for the most highly rated paper published in BSER&T relating to research for his paper titled ‘An update of the UK’s design summer years: Probabilistic design summer years for enhanced overheating risk analysis in building design.’ 

The paper taps into the issue of increasing concern to the industry, overheating, presenting a method to create probabilistic design summer years data which can be used to inform designers of the risk of overheating to occupants – a method which can also be used to generate new near extreme weather files for the UK.
Eames is a second-time winner, having also won the prize in 2012.

The Carter and Napier Shaw Bronze Medals are awarded by CIBSE annually to celebrate the high quality research carried out in the building services industry. They are presented to the highest rated papers of the year on application and research respectively, published in the Building Services Engineering Research and Technology (BSER&T) Journal.

CIBSE members can access BSERT Journal and Lighting Research and Technology (LR&T) Journal as part of their membership at