Skip to content

SLL Celebrate the Lighting Community at Annual Awards


The Society of Light and Lighting (SLL) held its AGM, Awards, and Presidential Address on 20 May 2021. Celebrating the achievements of its members and the lighting community, the SLL awards were hosted by Andrew Bissell FSLL, President Elect of the Society, and took place online.

Watch the 2021 SLL AGM, Awards and Presidential Address on-demand:

The awards began with the announcement of the recipient of the 2021 SLL Jean Heap Research Bursary, Jeevun Grewal. Jeevun's research interests lie in non-visual responses to light, and specifically wellbeing and sleep/wake cycles. 

The 2020 Leon Gaster and Walsh Weston award winners were the first to be announced. These are awarded annually for the best published papers, featured in Lighting Research & Technology (LR&T) journal. The Leon Gaster award is presented for the best paper concerning lighting applications and recognises the role that Leon Gaster played as founder of the Illuminating Engineering Society in 1909, later to become the Society of Light and Lighting. The 2020 Leon Gaster Award went to Timur Dogan, Assistant Professor at Cornell University and Daniel Park, Junior Environmental Specialist at KPF for their paper, Testing the residential daylight score: Comparing climate-based daylighting metrics for 2444 individual dwellings units in temperate climates. The paper was published in SLL Lighting Research & Technology volume 52 edition 8. Timur and Daniel delivered a short presentation introducing the findings included within this paper. Their research presents a different way of looking at daylight in residential architecture, that takes into account seasonal and diurnal fluctuations and measures daylight sufficiency, as well as direct sunlight and access to sunlight.

The Walsh Weston award is given for the best paper considering more fundamental lighting matters. It recognises the role of J. W. T. Walsh who was instrumental in developing the photometric systems we use today and H. C. Weston who worked in the area of illumination for work, eventually leading to the publication of the first Code for Lighting in the UK. The 2020 Walsh Weston Award went to Adrie de Vries, Lighting Application Scientist at Signify; Jan Souman, Senior Scientist and Consultant at TNO automotive; and Professor Yvonne de Kort, Eindhoven University of Technology, for their paper, Teasing apart office illumination: Isolating the effect of task illuminance on office workers. The paper was published in SLL Lighting Research & Technology volume 52 edition 8. Adrie de Vries delivered a short overview of the research, looking at how different light effects (task/eye illuminance and wall luminance) compare concerning the impact on perceived attractiveness and brightness, along with subjective alertness.

The SLL Regional Award is presented in recognition of the work of an individual in representing the Society in their region. The 2020 award went to Katerina Konsta CEng MSLL MCIBSE, former SLL representative for CIBSE North West region. Katerina represented the Society from October 2015 to December 2020 and during that time she organised many successful CPD and social events in the North West Region. This award recognised the outstanding contribution she has made to the SLL and CIBSE.
Recognising outstanding service to the Society, the 2020 Lighting Award went to John Aston FSLL. Kristina Allison CEng MSLL MCIBSE, Chair of the SLL Education Committee was invited to deliver John’s citation, in which she referenced his impressive career in lighting, along with his ongoing contribution as Chair of the SLL Membership Committee. 

Honorary Fellowship of the SLL is awarded in recognition of a significant contribution, not only to the services of the Society but to the wider industry as well. This year, Honorary Fellowship was awarded to Professor Geoff Cook, former Chair of the Lighting Research & Technology Editorial Board. 

Current Chair of the Editorial Board, Teresa Goodman was invited to deliver Geoff’s citation in which she outlined his many achievements and contributions to the lighting industry, including establishing the SLL Regional Award and his role as an individual expert member of the BSi committee concerned with light, lighting, and contrast for people who are visually impaired. 

The final award was the SLL President’s Award, first awarded to Joe Lynes in 2009, recognising a significant and lifetime contribution to lighting. The 2020 President’s Medal was awarded to Florence Lam FSLL. Florence’s long-standing colleague, Arfon Davies CEng FSLL MCIBSE was invited to deliver her citation. Arfon described Florence’s journey in lighting, from studying Engineering at Cambridge, undertaking the Bartlett MSc in Lighting Design, and eventually co-founding a specialist lighting team at Arup, which has since grown from 4 members in London to over 120 designers across 12 countries internationally. Amongst many awards, Florence was the first woman to be named Lighting Designer of the Year by the Lighting Design Awards, and the following year, in 2014 she was awarded the SLL Lighting Award.

If you have any quesitons or if you would like more information about the Society of Light and Lighting, please contact [email protected] or telephone +44 (0) 208 772 3685.