Skip to content

SLL Past Presidents Receive Highest Recognition at CIBSE President's Dinner and Awards

Recognising outstanding service to the work of the Institution, CIBSE announced the 2020 and 2021 recipients of its Gold, Silver and Bronze Medals at the Annual President's Dinner, which took place at the Royal Automobile Club (RAC) in London on Friday 11 February 2022.

Unable to meet for the previous two years, CIBSE was delighted to be able to bring people together in celebration of the 2020 and 2021 medallist's significant contribution, working to deliver the Institutions’ objectives of serving society and benefitting the public.

A bumper year for the awards, the President’s Dinner was hosted by CIBSE President and SLL Past President, Professor Kevin Kelly. It was also a first for CIBSE CEO, Ruth Carter who welcomed guests alongside immediate past-president, Stuart MacPherson. 

Left to right: Ruth Carter, Chief Executive of CIBSE; Kevin Kelly, CIBSE President; Mike Simpson, SLL and CIBSE Past President; Stuart MacPherson, CIBSE immediate Part President

The first of two SLL Past President's to recieve a CIBSE Gold Medal was Mike Simpson CEng FCIBSE FSLL. Written by Les Copeland FCIBSE, Mike's award citation referenced the leading role he played in lighting the London 2012 Olympics, along with a number of other high profile projects. Additionally, it reference Mike's active role in writing technical standards for lighting internationally and developing the next generation of lighting engineers, teaching on the MSc Light and Architecture course at UCL and BA Lighting Design course at Rose Bruford College. Mike Simpson also helped to established SLL Ready Steady Light. Mike has been President of the SLL, CIBSE and the Institution of Lighting Engineers and is a past Master of the Worshipful Company of Lightmongers.

Left to right: Kevin Kelly, CIBSE President; Ruth Carter, Chief Executive of CIBSE; Olu Babalola, former CIBSE HCNW Region Chair; Stuart MacPherson, CIBSE immediate Part President

Also a Past President of CIBSE and the SLL, Stephen Lisk FCIBSE FSLL was the second lighter to receive a CIBSE Gold Medal. During his presidential year, Stephen set out to lead the various disciplines represented within building services engineering towards a more collaborative approach. Stephen's citation was delivered by Olu Babalola, former Chair of the CIBSE Home Counties North West region. Within his citation, Stephen's committement to engaging with and recognising CIBSE Members and volunteers was brought to the fore, along with his committment to championing inclusivity and diversity.

You can see a full list of 2022 award winners, along with coverage of the President's Dinner via,-silver-and-bronze-awards-2020-and-2021