Skip to content

Team Lighterman win Teambuild 2016

Team ‘Lighterman’ have won the Team Build 2016 competition, in a year that featured a strong contingent of CIBSE talent.

The team, composed of entrants from Eckersley O’Callaghan, Hawkins\Brown, Hoare Lea, Kier Construction and WSP | Parsons Brinckerhoff, were victorious in a challenge that saw them design and present hypothetical proposals based on a current real-life construction project that is already underway.

The event, run by the Team Build Association, was created in order to facilitate and encourage team work within the industry and between disciplines. This year's event saw a strong CIBSE contingent, including Chairman of the Competition Richard Rooley FREng FICE FCIBSE, competition judge Prof Dejan Mumovic FCIBSE and competition winner Matthew Vice MCIBSE of Hoare Lea 

That winning team, excelling against a strong field, was formed of individuals from companies across the spectrum of the construction industry. Every competitor selected after a rigorous pre-Qualification stage, had less than six years’ experience in industry; the scenarios were designed to test them to their limits.

Richard Rooley FREng FICE FCIBSE said: “The calibre of our judges this year was extraordinary; matched only by their dedication to the task. It is wonderful to see so many of the winning teams made up from multiple companies across the industry, working together towards a common goal.  The future of our industry is in good hands."

In this pressurised, fast-paced environment, the competitors demonstrated excellent team-working and collaboration skills. The winning team, named after a pub which hosted some of their preparatory meetings, were awarded a cash prize of £2,000, sponsored by the Worshipful Company of Constructors.

Teambuild 2016 challenged teams to create plan based around the New Papworth Hospital; adevelopment on Cambridge Biomedical Campus, currently underway on site. Skanska and HOK provided the teams with real site information to form the basis of their hypothetical scenarios, giving an added sense of realism to the proceedings.

Nine teams, representing twenty-four top construction industry companies, made it through to the hotly-contested finals, and impressed throughout with their professionalism, enthusiasm and dedication. Their performance was evaluated by fourteen senior industry figures, each representing a construction institution. This year the panel included Richard Brindley (Mast of the Worshipful Company of Chartered Architects), Ian Mason (Master of the Worshipful Company of Constructors), Patricia Bessey (PM Worshipful Company of Constructors), and Professor Dejan Mumovic (FCIBSE).