Skip to content

SLL AGM, Awards and Presidential Address 2021

20 May 2021 16:30 - 18:30


CPD Hours

20 May 2021 | from 16:30 BST


Join the Society of Light and Lighting in recognising the achievements of its members and the lighting community. The Awards will include two prestigious awards for research papers published in Lighting Research & Technology: the Leon Gaster and Walsh Weston Awards, the Regional Lighting Award, the Lighting Award, Honorary Fellowship and the Presidents Medal.

Following the awards, Ruth Kelly Waskett, the incoming SLL President, will then give her inaugural Presidential address, outlining her vision for the year ahead. 

Each year, the Society welcomes in a new President. Ruth will be following Bob Bohannon FSLL, SLL president from May 2020 - 2021.

Delegates can post comments and ask questions throughout the event.

In accordance with the Rules of the Society the Executive has considered candidates for the roles of Society Officers for the coming Society Year.

The Executive nominations for election by the membership are:

President Elect:    Andrew Bissell

Hon Treasurer:     Chris Tiernan

Vice-President:     Helen Loomes

Vice-President:     Dan Lister

Council Members New nominations – Carla Piatti and Katia Kolovea

All members of the Society who are eligible to vote may submit further nominations for any of these posts. Any nominations should be sent to the Secretary, on the nomination forms available by email from by 24 March 2021. If there are more candidates than vacancies, then a ballot will be held, and the result announced at the AGM.

Further details relating to the officer roles and criteria for nominees can be found via 

You can view the previous annual report and officers of the Society, as of 21 May 2020 via 

The following have previously been elected for the stated roles:

President: Ruth Kelly Waskett

Immediate Past President: Bob Bohannon

Council Members: Sophie Parry, Eliot Horsman, Karoliina Helin and Emma Beadle have not yet completed their 3-year terms.

For information, the following Society committees are chaired by:

Technical and Publications: Simon Robinson

Education and Membership: Kristina Allison & John Aston respectively

LR&T Editorial Board: Teresa Goodman

Marketing & Communications: Linda Salamoun

Events Committee:  Alexandra Kalimeri

Please note that only members may vote on business at the AGM

Register Now

This is a free event but advance booking is essential. If you have any queries about this event, please email