Skip to content

Young engineers ready to shine in CIBSE Awards

The shortlist of 20 young engineers and six companies in this year’s CIBSE Young Engineers Awards has been announced.

Comprising Apprentice, Graduate and Employer of the Year, the CIBSE Young Engineers Awards recognise the best new talent entering our industry together with those companies who go the extra mile to support and nurture them.

The Apprentice category, introduced last year, has been extended in 2021 with separate awards for Technician (Level 3-4), and Degree (level 5-7), to better recognise the range of routes into the industry and to celebrate emerging talent. The extension of the award underlines CIBSE’s commitment to encouraging a diverse cohort of young engineers.

The Graduate of the Year award, which is always hotly contested, will see the eight finalists challenged to show off their knowledge in a live presentation on a given topic in front of a panel of industry judges at the online final in October.

Just as important to our industry as this new talent are those companies who support and encourage their growth through the training, mentoring and initiatives which place them at the centre of their business. Clear inclusive strategies for recruiting and empowering young people are at the heart of the companies recognised in the shortlist for Employer of the Year.

CIBSE President, Kevin Kelly said: ‘The young engineers shortlisted represent some of the best emerging talent within our industry. Looking at these individuals we can feel confident that the future of our profession lies in safe hands. These young engineers are up for and fit to take on the  challenge of creating safe, healthy and climate-supporting cities of the future.’

The CIBSE Young Engineers Awards 2021 will take place online on 14 October.

They are delivered in partnership with CIBSE Patrons and sponsored by Ideal Heating, ACV and Swegon.

Full details

The full shortlist is:
CIBSE Apprentice of the Year
Degree apprentice Level 5-7:

  • Katie Baker, Tetra Tech
  • Josie Cheeseman, WSP
  • Connor Hanlon, HDR
  • Musab Mahmood, Atkins
  • Yogi Nagam, Buro Happold
  • Jason Rawlins, Couch Perry Wilkes 
  • Lewis Ward, Couch Perry Wilkes

Technical apprentice Level 3-4:
  • Amanullah Amirmohammadi, Cooper Homewood
  • Daniel Bailey, Derry Building Services
  • Stevie Braxton, Briggs & Forresters Special Projects
  • Megan Ganderson, Couch Perry Wilkes
  • Harry Playfair, NG Bailey
CIBSE ASHRAE Graduate of the Year
  • Jessica Cansian, ChapmanBDSP
  • Ella Clark, AECOM
  • Matthew Dickenson, AECOM
  • Michaela Lattenbergova, Arup
  • Niamh Luck, CPW
  • Yara Machnouk, Elementa Consulting
  • Jonathan Pairman, Red Engineering Design Ltd
  • Lucy Sherburn, Fairheat
CIBSE Employer of the Year
  • ATAL Engineering Group
  • ChapmanBDSP
  • EECO2
  • Fairheat
  • Hoare Lea
  • Waldeck Consulting