Skip to content

Who will be a 2020 Young Engineers Awards’ finalist?

Back to CIBSE ANZ Home
The 2020 CIBSE ANZ Young Engineers Awards competition called for entries in three categories –  Students, Graduates and Emerging Professionals asking:

“What changes need to occur in planning the built environment today to help achieve a desirable, high-performing, sustainable built environment one decade on?”

Entry to the 2020 Awards is now closed and judging is underway for our panel of seven, tasked with scoring entries and choosing three finalists for each of the Award categories.

Chaired by ANZ Young Engineers Network Chair, Melanie Finch, the judges will meet on 15 July to make their final deliberations.

This year CIBSE welcomes some new judges from different sectors of the industry and different regions within Australia and New Zealand. 

Meet the 2020 Panel:

CIBSE ANZ YEN Chair | Senior Engineer at Norman Disney & Young

Activist, Entrepreneur, Angel Investor, Consultant and Director of Maria Atkinson Consultancy

Senior lecturer at Unitec Institute of Technology

Associate Professor in Environmental and Sustainable Design | Director Sustainable and Healthy Environments Lab, The University of Melbourne

Co-Founder at Real Energy Co | FMA Board Member and Past Chair

Sustainability Consultant at WSP in Australia & New Zealand | 2019 CIBSE ANZ Graduate of the Year

Electrical, AV & ICT Engineer | 2019 CIBSE ANZ Young Engineer of the Year

Whilst the scores are still out, panellist Kristiana Greenwood felt the graduate entries reflected an “outstanding calibre of young entrants”. She went on to say, “It is so encouraging to see this generation so determined to reduce our carbon footprint through innovation and system integration. Congratulations to all the entrants on some inspiring ideas and projects that will make a massive contribution to the future environment.”

Of the Young Engineer category, panellist, Roger Birchmore said, “It is good to see young engineers not just developing but sharing their learning with colleagues via in-house presentations and to external groups.”

The finalists will be announced early next month and the winners announced at an online Awards ceremony on the 8th of September 2020 with the help of our Awards sponsors, AECOM, Aurecon and Northrop Consulting Engineers.

The 2020 winners each receive a $1000 cash prize, trophy and certificate.

Guest speaker, Dr Kate Meyer, Founding Director - Planetary Accounting Network & Business Director of Sustainability at Beca, will also deliver a thought-provoking presentation on Planetary Accounting - Building within Planetary Boundaries.

This event is free to attend

This Awards programme is made possible with the help of our sponsors: